Licenses are obtained in Wyoming’s County Clerk’s offices. In Fremont County they are issued at the Clerk’s office at the Fremont County Courthouse in the Lander office from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday. It is the couple’s responsibility to arrange an officiant to marry them whether they wish to get married at a later date or as soon as they obtain the license. There is not an officiant in the County Clerk’s office. A Wyoming marriage license expires one (1) year from the issuance date. If you have the application completed before coming to our office the process will go much faster.
MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICANTS!!!
If you have your paperwork already filled out, it takes about 30 minutes for us to type the forms and have you sign them.
Most days we can do licenses any time, but during the lunch hours we may have to take your information and your number and have you come back to pick it up. We just want to make you aware. Thanks for your patience!!
- Fee: $30.00
- You may download a Marriage License Application and then bring the completed form to our office to obtain your license.
- A blood test is no longer required.
- Legal Age to Marry
- 18 years of age or older
- If 16-17 a signed parental consent is required by a parent who has custody. You may print this CONSENT FORM and bring the completed form if you would like.
- If 15 or younger a judge’s court order is required
- Both applicants need to come to our office.
- Identification – showing photograph and birth date
- Driver’s license
- Military ID
- Official School ID
- Official government ID with a photograph etc.
- It is preferable that both applicants come to the office If only one applicant can be in our office, they must have a copy of their intended’s identification and they will have to bring a witness that can give social security number, residence and age of the missing party. The witness will also be swearing that there is no legal impediment to the two people getting married and that all information is true and correct.
- The parties must know the following information:
- Social Security Numbers
- Current Residential Addresses
- Date of Birth
- Mother’s maiden name
- Mother’s place of birth
- Father’s place of birth
- If a former marriage ended in divorce or death, the date the marriage ended must be included on the application.
- Education Level
- Same sex marriage licenses are available as of October 21, 2014.
- A Wyoming marriage license is recorded with the County Clerk’s office in which the license was obtained.
- Certified copies of marriage licenses are also available in the Fremont County Clerk’s office if that is where you obtained your marriage license. If you need proof of your marriage, wish to change your name on your driver’s license or social security number, you will need a certified copy of your marriage license. To obtain a certified copy of your marriage license please complete the Certified Marriage Certificate Application. This can only be produced after we have received and recorded the license. After you have completed the form, print the form and mail to us with payment of $5.00 per requested certified copy.